Is YOUR shipping system broken?

Maybe it is and you don't know it yet. However, if I place an order with your company and it does not do certain things, you will read about it here, and on other places as well. It's my mission in this time to ensure that the processes work and that the customer does not end up paying for a misstep in your mission to provide excellent customer service.

Case in point: ClubMac/MacMall

First off, let it be well known that I LOVE MACMALL. In fact I still wear my bright yellow "CALL THE MALL" TShirt out to coffee which makes my wife cringe everytime she sees it since it's old and from a MacWorld long ago.

But, that being said, I used the Club Mac side of things to place an order for a very small part and it caused a breakdown in their system which showed the age of things, so this needs to be mentioned so that it can be fixed.

Now, to give you an idea of the timeframe here, the last time I used the billing address in question was when I lived in a town called Burlingame, CA. We're talking 2003, so roughly 6 years ago. I've placed orders in the MacMall/ClubMac system since that time using newer addresses, and even during this year 2009 have placed orders using my current billing address in Scottsdale.

The system asked me to confirm my information at the time of ordering, which I did and everything said Scottsdale. I then received an order email which my burlingame address as the Billing address.

So is my problem that the Burlingame address is in there? Yes. Did it slow up my order? Yes, in fact it put it on hold and the system never notified me that it was on hold. In fact, this is where the breakage is.

I ordered on the 26th, and was expecting a part to be delivered today the 27th. This was the shipping I paid for. Instead it should now be delivered on the 28th. They're not reducing the shipping charges, nor offering any kind of credit. That's not right.

When a shipping address and a billing address do not match, there should be something in the system that flags the order, initiates an email to the customer and asks them to call a specific department to get this resolved. This did not happen. Had I done nothing, as I was told, the order would have sat in the system as they don't have this type of an action in place. It's 2009 folks, it's time to update the shipping software or very simply run it on a MAC so that it gets done right.

I hope that MacMall takes care of this problem. When I receive my part, I will be filing a question of charges with my credit card company to bring this to their attention that charging Overnight shipping for a 2 day shipping when you have a problem with your system is NOT good customer service.

Your thoughts in the comments area please.

Michael