Michael Jackson - "This is It"

Having grown up on the music of the Jackson 5, the Jackson's, then Michael it's been a roller coaster of a musical life and to see the news a couple of months ago and all that's happened, it's sad to see that he's physically gone from us.

In the spiritual sense he's still here with us and speaking to us each time we listen to one of his songs or think of him. So yesterday it was fun to have Maria say to me "Let's go see "This is It" tomorrow". I could not wait to go see this after seeing some of the footage and hearing the reviews. I wanted to see it for myself.

Most concert style films that you see are very documentary-ish and laden with lousy cuts from some editor looking to do his version of things. In looking at this film I think that Michael would have been proud of what they did with it. It was fun to see him dancing, signing, talking to people during the process, coaching the dancers, singers, musicians on how HE wanted his music played, sang, performed. He was very spiritual in his conveyance of desire and what struck me so was that he was humble in his requests.

He also took time to thank the maker as well as each and every one on the crew for their giving to him of their talents.

Recommended? Oh yes, you bet. Will I buy the DVD when it comes out? Yes, it will be added to our collection. The songs were well done, the music well performed, this is truly a nice tribute to a musical mind lost too early. He did not look 50 in this film and he did not look to be ill at all. He looked amazing and fluid as always in his moves. No hesitation whatsoever and every dancer who watched him move did so with great respect and admiration as well as applause.

Do yourself a favor, if you are a fan, go see this movie. If you're not a fan, go see this movie. By the end of it you will be a fan.

For those of us who grew up on Michael's music and dancing this has been tough. I remember where I was when I first saw the Moonwalk on Motown's 25th. I was at a club in Santa Monica down by the Pier standing there sipping margaritas with some friends when I looked up and saw Michael take the stage to sing Billie Jean...and like he was on oil he slid his shoes back and up back and up so rythmically, stopped spun and landed up on his toes, the entire restaurant went nuts. We all yelled, applauded and never realized that this was musical history in the making. The next day there were people all over town talking and trying to imitate the dance. Months later they began to and the rest is history.

There's so much more Michael did for all of us and I am only going to cover those things which I believe to be true here. I want to say thanks Michael for the memories, the music and helping all of us see a better, younger part of ourselves.

Bless all who read this and pass it along.

Much love.

Michael