A few more thoughts on the Kaepernick "protest"

Don't misunderstand my ire at Colin Kaepernick as speaking against the Bill of Rights. If you go and read the 1st Amendment & all others, there is no implicit RIGHT TO PROTEST. It does not exist. What does is the right for a group to "peaceably assemble". That assembly is to be peaceful and not infringe on the rights of others.

The bastardization of the 1st Amendment and the right to peaceably assemble by groups like Black Lives Matter and others is tragic because they're kicking others rights to the curb and saying ONLY WE MATTER. That's not AMERICA. That's ANARCHY, and that's NOT what this country is about.

Yes, Colin Kaepernick has a right to protest the flag that flies over our country. I guess we should be thankful he didn’t run out grab one and set it on fire. He could have, and of course could have suffered great injury as many on the field at the time would not be sharing in his love of demeaning that which flies over our country in representation of our freedoms and those who fought to defend freedom and who do today.

I personally believe that his sitting was spitting in the face of all Veterans and Service persons and their families. Those who’ve paid the ultimate sacrifice for their decisions to serve our nation. Colin had the chance to SERVE our country. He chose not to. He chose to place that in the hands of others. The least he can do for doing that placing is to stand and hold a moment of prayer for them and all those who fell before them.

But in the end, he has the right to protest. We all do. Every single brick holder who bought bricks in the stadiumwalk that was created at Levi’s Stadium have the right to protest his behavior and to have our bricks pulled. That’s OUR RIGHT. Because we didn’t sign up to have our names tied to demeaning the flag of our country that flies over that sporting arena and all others in honor of our freedoms. I have filed my protest with Levi’s Stadium to have my brick pulled & destroyed. I have yet to hear back from them. I have also cc’d all BAY AREA NEWS organizations on that request. NONE of them have responded to my letter either. AMAZING.

That flag separates us from other countries that if he was there and tried the same thing, they’d take him out and execute him in public for that offense. We don’t do that. We tolerate it, but we also have a right to speak against his demonstration.

Lastly, since his protest against “police brutality” and discrimination against blacks in our country, what has Colin Kaepernick done to help those communities? How many Police has he met with? I know of several very visible members of Police organizations around our country that have rolled out the red carpet for Colin to meet with them and share his ideas on how to remedy these problems. He’s met with NONE OF THEM. He’s stood up and screamed FIRE in a CROWDED theater and then sat down and laughed.

WE THE PEOPLE ARE NOT LAUGHING! If the 49er’s paid me just 1 year of his salary, I would take that $19Million dollars and change so many lives that it would make Kaepernick’s head spin. I DARE YOU SAN FRANCISCO!!! Write me that check and I will truly change so many lives you’ll want to keep paying me o that I can keep your kindness for others in the forefront of the news forever. Let’s see the 49er’s step up. I HAVE PLANS, I HAVE TEAM that can execute on my plans and you’ll come out smelling like a HUGE ROSE, instead of like CRAP due to Kaepernick’s “protest” so that you don’t cut him.

Michael Murdock, US NAVY VETERAN
@docmurdock on twitter


** If this letter speaks your feelings as well, please give a donation of any size here: cash.me/$veteran your donation will help this VETERAN and allow me to keep helping others when they are in need.