EcoStylus from Shapedad

So I was tweeting one day asking Wacom to send me a Bamboo review unit when I received a tweet from someone who said basically try out my stylus that I am selling, it's made out of Bamboo, REAL BAMBOO! Here's the guy below.

So we exchanged tweets and then emails and I said send me one and let's see if we can put the stamp of approval on it. I read about it on http://www.etsy.com/shop/shapedad and saw some things about it on the web. Here's a guy who figured out how to make a capacitive stylus for the ipad and iphone which is made out of real bamboo, copper and nylon. It's not large, it's not cumbersome, it's not unwieldily, it's thin, light, easy to use, and fun to work with. It makes using the iPad fun and more accurate than using your fingertips in some cases. This I like.

So in order to find all these things out, I had to receive one. It came in a nice bubble wrapped envelope which when opened yielded the following:

Nice packaging, easily recycled, and oh look it's actually BAMBOO!!

So amidst all that was happening I decided to get to work with this stylus. Just to give you an idea of the length of it, I laid it out on the ipad screen. There you can get an idea of how long this is. Which is great because some of these things are just too short and trying to write on the iPad screen with something that is short would just not work well.

So I launched facebook as the app and decided to just see how it would be to tap out a message with this thing. How would it feel different than simply tapping with my finger. Now granted I can type quickly, even on the smaller keyboard which the ipad facebook app uses (because facebook is too lazy to create an actual ipad app due to Zuckerberg thinking that the ipad is not really portable???), but I thought it would be fun to tap out a message just for grins:

So I tapped that out and eventually shared it with the rest of the world. Tapping can be fun just to see how your coordination works. This is something that will become apparent as you go forward in life, so this skill is one that the eco-stylus can help you with and does it very well. Here's my share of the message with the world:

After that message was done, I decided to put this through its paces and see if I could draw with it, and write with it. Now I am not the best artist in the world, and the first to admit this, so in the hands of a really talented person, this would do well. With me...it's just fun to share what I can do sometimes.

Now I know the name of the Stylus is not Bamboo, but since it's made of Bamboo, the name used in the video fits, and since Wacom was too high up on its horse to send one our way to look at this Eco Stylus gets the review, not the fancy one from Wacom which is as far from Bamboo as bamboo can be! See we're about truth in advertising. If you're naming it bamboo, it better be made out of wood! Wacom's is NOT. This one is. POINT to ECO STYLUS!!

Okay, so I guess you're waiting to see what we think of it, and whether or not it's going to get a stamp of approval or not. I'll just say you'll have to watch the video to see!!!

What I can tell you is that innovation is something we're always looking out for. We always want to see people take an idea, run with it, get support, and build something with it. Whether it's a product or a service, it's important to bring something to the party. Help advance Human-Kind in some way. It's why we're all here.

Ivo Beckers has done that. He's shown that with a little ingenuity, and some easily obtained materials he can create a product which helps those using tablets with capacitive surfaces an easy way to do more than drag your fingers across the glass. He's made it light, fun, and eco-friendly.

This last video will give you what you came here to see:

Thanks for taking time to watch, to read, and most of all to go buy at least one of these for use with your iPad, iPad2, iPhone or other device.

Michael